CheckMyNews

We have designed CheckMyNews to measure risks with AI-driven information targeting. For example, are there systemic biases in the quality of information different users receive on Facebook. Who is targeted with low-quality information? And what role do platform algorithms play in promoting low-quality information?

CheckMyNews also provides you with statistics about the news-related posts you see in your feed.

Help us hold online platforms accountable by installing our browser extension, which sends us information about the ads and posts you receive in your feed that refer to news articles. The data transfers are anonymous; we do not collect your name or any other identifiable information.

Installation

Sign the consent on the page that appears after installing the extension

Pin the extension to the chrome interface

Warning! If you are using some ad blocker like AdBlock Plus, you need to disable it on Facebook in order to get the most out of CheckMyNews. Also, CheckMyNews is not compatible with tracking protection settings, and third-party cookies should be allowed in your browser. Finally, you need to set your language in Facebook to Portuguese (Brazil), English (US) or French (France). Currently, we do not support other languages.

How does it work?

CheckMyNews works silently in the background while you are browsing Facebook without any overhead to your browsing experience. It analyzes the content you receive in Facebook to show you aggregate statistics about the ads and posts you receive from news organisations.

What data we collect from you:

  • Data about ads you receive while you browse Facebook
  • The accompanied explanations that Facebook provides
  • Data about posts you see on your timeline that are public or that refer to a news article
  • Periodically, your Ads Preferences page
  • Data about your activity on news sources websites
  • Hashed versions of your user id


How is my data going to be used

Your data is going to be used in our research, but only in an aggregated way. All traces of data are pseudonymized before they arrive on our servers.



Is my data going to be safe?

We will store your data in the servers of the Grenoble Computer Science Laboratory (LIGLAB) , protected by the LIGLAB firewall.

Statistics

Click on the popup menu of the extension to access the services we provide.

General statistics

See how many ads and posts from news organisations you receive on Facebook, and how do you interract with them.

Who are we?

CheckMyNews

Nous avons conçu CheckMyNews dans le but d’étudier les risques relatifs au ciblage de l'information sur Facebook. Nous nous interessons à differentes questions, par exemple, nous étudions si certaines categories d'utilisateurs sont plus éxposées à de la désinformation sur Facebook, et quel est le role joué par les algorithmes de Facebook dans la propagation de telles informations.

CheckMyNews vous permet également aux utilsateurs qui l'installent d'analyser les publications qu'ils recoivent sur leurs fils d'actualités Facebook.

En installant CheckMyNews, vous contribuerez à rendre les plateformes en ligne responsables du contenu qu'elles envoient aux utilisateurs sous forme de publications et de publicités sur leurs fils d'actualités. Toutes les données que nous collectons sont anonymes, nous n'accéderons pas à votre nom ni à toute autre information qui permet de vous identifier.

Installation

Sign the consent on the page that appears after installing the extension

Pin the extension to the chrome interface

Alerte Si vous utilisez un bloquer de publicité tel que AdBlock Plus, vous devrez le désactiver sur Facebook afin d'avoir une experience optimale avec CheckMyNews. En outre, vous devrez également accepter l'utilisation des cookies tiers sur votre navigateur et configurer les paramètres linguistiques de votre compte Facebook to Portuguese (Brazil), English (US) or French (France). Currently, we do not support other languages.

Comment ca marche?

CheckMyNews fonctionne en arrière-plan pendant que vous naviguez sur Facebook, sans altérer votre expérience utilisateur. L'extension analyse le contenu que vous recevez dans le but de calculer des statistiques sur les publicités et les publications qui vous parviennent de la part des médias d'informations.

Les données collectées par CheckMyNews

  • Des données sur les publicités que vous recevez sur Facebook
  • Les explications accompagnées fournies par Facebook pour chaque publicité 'Pourquoi je vois cette publicité ?'
  • Des données sur les publications publiques ou qui renvoient vers des articles de presses que vous recevez sur votre fil d'actualité Facebook
  • Vos Préférences publicitaires
  • Des données sur votre activité sur les sites webs des médias d'information
  • Votre identifiant utilisateur après hachage


Utilisation des données

Les données collectées seront utilisées dans le cadre de nos recherches, mais uniquement de manière agrégée. Toutes les données que nous collectons sont pseudonymisées avant leur arrivée sur nos serveurs, ce qui signifie qu'il est impossible de les associer à vous.



Sécurité des données

Les données collectées sont enregistrées dans les serveurs du Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble (LIG) , et sont par conséquent protégées par le pare feu mis en place par ce laboratoire.

Tableau de bord

Cliquez sur l'icône de CheckMyNews sur votre navigateur pour accéder aux differents services proposés.

Statistiques générales

Vous pourrez voir le nombre de publicités et de publications que vous recevez sur Facebook, ainsi que des statistiques sur votre interaction avec les posts Facebook.

Qui sommes-nous ?